Skip to content

Digital strategists.

July 18, 2012

I hate the term ‘digital strategist’. I also hate the term ‘social media strategist’ though I have referred to myself as one before. I think I just find ‘strategist’ an incredibly wanky and cringe-worthy job title.

In terms of what a strategist actually means – one who is skilled in planning – there is nothing wrong with the word. What makes it wanky is that everyone in digital and social now calls themselves one. It’s the new social media guru.

Anyhow I wanted to share with you this awesome clip from the BBC which pretty much sums up how I feel about half the ‘strategists’ out there. Enjoy.

 

Post Script: I’ll probably still refer to myself using the term strategist from time to time, only because it means something to people who matter but who don’t really get what I do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

