Skip to content

Mac vs PC user: The Stats

April 28, 2011

Well you all know I’m rather partial to a good infographic, and here’s the latest one (thanks to Hunch) to take my fancy.

Up until this year I was a PC devotee, primarily because I hadn’t really used a Mac since the old school Apple Macintosh we had in primary school. I now use a Mac for work… but I haven’t crossed over the fence just yet, I’m sitting on it. This really is reinforced by reading this infographic – I have traits from both sides.

Which are you? Do you think the infographic is correct?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 12:24 pm

    Personally, I love the fact that I can customize the hardware according to my needs while buying a PC, but I would love to try a Mac too, haven’t had the chance to use it.

  2. April 28, 2011 1:50 pm

    Infographic interesting but very American. Does this survey include those who are supplied PC’s by their employer but don’t actually own one?

    I am with Gourav. I am 2 PC’s in a house with three macs and 5 i devices.

    The reason I still love a PC is as Gourav said, I can update components easily as well as cost effectively. I can also do these upgrades myself. The most i’ve seen someone do themselves is a RAM ugrade on a Mac and god help you when it comes to a Warranty claim when installing your own RAM. Not prepared to pay a $150+ premium for ‘official’ RAM either.

    I am also at a loss of what to do with a MAC when something goes wrong. I realise this is practice and learning but I don’t want to pay $2K+ for that lesson at the moment.

    For the user I am (web, video editing and gaming) a PC does me well and is cost effective to boot.

  3. April 30, 2011 11:29 pm

    Nice graphical analytics ! But there are somes mistakes and misses !

    Don’t forget PC mean Personal Computer so either Mac is a PC either than the PC with Windows, some PC have both Mac and PC with dual-boot.

    And what a pity you didn’t mentioned Gnu/Linux users !

    The difference with Mac and Windows + Gnu/Linux is that brings the software plus the hardware, and the Windows + Gnu/Linux just bring the software so the hardware is independant.

    I think that’s really important point to don’t forget.

    Personally I ever used Windows but since 4 years I also use Ubuntu (Gnu/Linux), so now I just use Windows for games.

  4. May 10, 2011 8:05 pm

    I would love to be using a Mac but I can not be used because there are no conditions.

  5. May 29, 2011 4:17 pm

    Wow – I always thought there was a correlation between Pepsi being my favourite soft drink and me using a PC, now there’s proof! 😉

    Nice post!

Leave a Reply

