Skip to content

Spot the difference

October 6, 2010

My blog post on Monday titled Falling out of love with Foursquare garnered a lot of interest, finishing the day off yesterday with in excess of 3,200 hits.

This massive hike in my blog’s stats was largely due to the fact that the post was featured on WordPress.com’s homepage, which meant that my blog was exposed to thousands of people who would otherwise not have come across it.

Brian Buchanan

And it seems that one guy in particular came across my post, a gentleman by the name of Brian Buchanan.

What a coincidence that Brian also blogged about his drop in support for Foursquare! Brian’s article on his blog Brianwashed, starts with the following line:

I know, I used to be a champion for the Foursquare brand but it just isn’t working out anymore.

Hmm. That sounds familiar. Perhaps that is because it is word-for-word the same opening line to my article. In fact, Brian’s article is almost identical to mine, the only changes being to geographical references. For example, where I speak about Melbourne, Brian has referenced Georgia instead:

When I first started using Foursquare earlier this year I absolutely loved the platform and I was checking in all over town. I was racking up mayorships & scoring points all across Georgia and beyond. I was setting up new locations every day as so few locations had been set up at that time, and I was given Super User status within weeks. I then took pride in correcting addresses and shutting down duplicates.

Brian also left out the word ‘wanker’ from his blog post. Perhaps this is because Brian is a Christian. And we all know Christians don’t use words like wanker, or lie, or steal, or plagiarise…

Brian Buchanan is in fact the ‘Media Pastor’ for City Church Savannah, according to his Facebook profile, and his favourite book is the Bible. He is also interested in producing videos (hopefully original ones) and photography. You can even follow Brian on Twitter.

Whilst I have been brought up to believe that imitation is the highest form of flattery, I don’t take kindly to my words being directly lifted and put to someone else’s name without my permission. Re-blogging is fine, just credit the source. Or if you agree with someone else’s post, then re-write yours to come to the same conclusion.

You can read Brian’s full blog post Why I am Pretty Much Done With Foursquare and let me know what you think.

Brian's Post

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 4:38 pm

    BUSTED!

  2. October 6, 2010 4:41 pm

    Dodgy, but very little you can do except call him out on it, and spread the word – if thinks your work isn’t important enough to credit, there’s nothing wrong in this instance with discrediting him as a plagiarist!

  3. Rob Goldsmith permalink
    October 6, 2010 5:21 pm

    Everyone should spam his Twitter and the blog itself with PLAGIARIST!

    • October 7, 2010 10:30 am

      There were a lot of tweets to Brian last night, I think he would’ve woken up to a tirade of hate tweets!

  4. October 6, 2010 6:34 pm

    this is fecking hilarious!!!! i want to follow him. i like bibles and georgia!!!!! baaaaaaaaaaaahahhahhaha

  5. October 6, 2010 6:37 pm

    ps. have you contacted him?? im so tempted just to post your website on his comments… hahahhaha. wat a dick!!

    pps… how did u come accross him??

    • October 7, 2010 10:34 am

      I haven’t contacted him, though a lot of others on Twitter have. He’s now removed the post though you can still read it in full on his Facebook page via http://on.fb.me/aBmvlg.
      A little birdie stumbled across his post and called me up about it on Tuesday. I’ll be keeping an eye on Brian Buchanan, just to make sure he doesn’t get tempted to break the 10 commandments and steal again.
      🙂

Leave a Reply

