Skip to content

misscoca turns twenty-seven

June 21, 2010

Ok so I’ve been slacking the past few days in terms of blogging, but I have an excuse – it was my birthday weekend!

Here’s a quick rundown of the festivities:

Day before Birthday – Friday 18 June

Dinner – pizza delivery from Crust Pizza. Had the seafood pizza which is awesomely amazing. Crust is great pizza though rather pricey. This one cost $23, but hey when it’s your birthday I guess you’re willing to spend a few extra bucks.

Gig – Went to the Hifi Bar on Swanston Street and saw Katie Noonan and The Captains. This was an amazing show, complete with string quartet. A Facebook competition had also been conducted where 2 winners choreographed their own dances and performed to Katie’s music, and another winner won her glockenspiel. Ja.

Actual Born Day – Saturday 19 June

Headed into Bourke Street Mall by 1pm for #melbfreeze, the Flashmob event which was to see hundreds of people freeze for 5 minutes. Unfortunately the whistles which were to signify the freezing were not audible and the freeze was confined to a small area of the Mall, outside the GPO, so I missed seeing it.

Lunch – Had a smoothie and croissant at one of my favourite Melbourne cafes, Tropicana. Mmmm. This was followed by a banana cupcake from The Cupcake Bakery on Elizabeth Street.

Afternoon – Went to the Melbourne Zoo and saw Mali, the baby elephant. I also enjoyed seeing the chimpanzees, zebras, lions, snakes, tigers, monkeys, butterflies, apes, meerkats and many other animals. I hadn’t been to the zoo since 1997 and it was hardly recognisable since my last visit. I was particularly impressed with the Thai-themed track to the elephant enclosure.

Evening – Dinner was at 8pm at Cookie, in Swanston Street. The food was terrific, and so were the drinks. My favourite cocktail was the Enlyghtenmint – a mixture of tequila, lime, mint, fresh blueberries, lychees & Chambord. It was absolutely sensational. Cookie’s cocktails are rather pricey with an average price of $18, but for a special occasion they are definitely worth it.

Night – After Cookie we headed up to The Toff in Town bar, where we kicked on for a while with more drinks and electro and soul beats coming from the speakers.

The Aftermath – Sunday 20 June

Needless to say I didn’t really do anything during the day on Sunday.

Dinner – A lovely lamb roast at Mum and Dad’s! Followed by lemon tart and my birthday cake – my favourite, carrot cake!

So I’ve been a busy bee and haven’t had time to spend with you all, please accept my apologies… I’ll be much better this week 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2010 9:16 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  2. tree permalink
    July 21, 2010 9:46 pm

    what an awesome birthday!!!!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

