Skip to content

Enter the iPhone 4 – but will it be a good PHONE?

June 10, 2010

This week the highly anticipated iPhone 4 was released, which will be available for purchase in Australia next month.

Some of the features of the new iPhone model include:

  • At just 9.3mm thick, the iPhone 4 is 24% thinner than the iPhone 3G
  • High resolution ‘retina display’ delivering 326 pixels per square inch
  • 2 cameras (one for video calling) up from 3 megapixels to 5 megapixels
  • HD video recording
  • Dual microphone noise suppression
  • 16% more battery life than the iPhone 3G
  • The iPhone 4 will be available in either black or white, and with capacity of either 16 or 32 gigabytes.

Sounds brilliant and I can’t wait to upgrade mine, but will it actually be a good phone???

I have so many problems with my iPhone, all revolving around functionality that should be so easy for a phone. Some of the current issues I have with my iPhone include not being able to make phonecalls and not being able to send MMS messages.

Let me explain a little more about the problems I have. I will have full reception on my iPhone and will still be unable to make a call. I can try repeatedly for several minutes, and I won’t be able to call until the phone has been switched off and on again. This happens to me maybe once a fortnight, but I have spoken to others who have this problem on a daily basis. Lesson – Apple does not want me to use the iPhone to make phonecalls.

My other problem I experience much more regularly. About 75% of the time that I attempt to send a MMS, it fails. As a person who goes throughout life seeing the humor in the very ordinary, I am often finding random signs/objects/places to take pictures of and MMS them on for comic value. But I no longer have much success with sending MMS and find myself having to email them instead, which works perfectly! Lesson – Apple wants me to email photos and not send them through the iPhone.

Clearly making phonecalls and sending messages are not deemed as high priority functions by Apple.

I propose that Apple considers changing the name of the iPhone to something less misleading, something that reflects what the iPhone does, apart from the ability to make calls and send messages… oh I have it, what about an iPad!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 2:09 pm

    get a BLACKBERRY and all your problems will be solved! 🙂

    oh .. did you get my email in regards to the blog subscription widget on your site?

    • June 10, 2010 2:33 pm

      Sure did! I’m writing back right now actually! Expect an email very soon…!

  2. The Orifice permalink
    July 5, 2010 5:31 pm

    Can’t stand the Blackberry and those guys are dying fast. I have on for the Orifice and it is not intuitive at all. This is why the iPhone is such a hit. It is simple. Anyone can use it in 5 minutes. It is also pretty. It may be old tech and not be that great of a phone but it does not seem to worry many. If you want great reception, simple, go to Telstra.

    Great article by the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

