Skip to content

Digital Life Expo 2010: misscoca’s first speaking engagement

June 7, 2010

Having spoken and given a number of workshops on social media marketing internally within my organisation (and being a wannabe teacher), I have been interested in getting into speaking on the topic externally for a couple of months.

I was recently approached by photographer Gavin Blue to speak on how photographers can use social media to promote and grow their business at the 2010 Digital Life Expo held in Melbourne at the Exhibition Centre on Saturday June 6. Of course I jumped at the chance.

Being confident in public speaking and on my subject matter I thought the whole process would be a breeze. What I didn’t realise that the preparation involved is not as easy as one would think.

For starters, I didn’t know exactly what the knowledge level of my audience would be – would I be speaking down to some people but over the heads of others? How will I structure the presentation? What kind of information needs to be presented first? What do these people really want to get out of my session?

After labouring over my presentation for a few days I decided to commence by showing a 5 minute video on social media that myself and a colleague recently created. The video was a great introduction to those who know little or nothing about social media, but gives enough facts to interest those with a higher level of knowledge.

I then launched into a PowerPoint presentation that introduced myself, spoke about the advantages (and disadvantages) of social media, and explained the various platforms that would be suitable for photographers to use. I then gave tips on each of these, spoke about the importance of keeping analytics and also addressed other options such as Facebook Advertising.

I had a number of questions at the conclusion of my presentation and met some fantastic people who were very interested in utilising social media in their marketing strategy. The greatest concern was that often photographers can be a one-man-business and could be difficult keeping an online presence due to the time commitment. But the opportunities are endless.

Overall I felt very comfortable presenting and I’m looking forward to my next engagement!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 9:54 pm

    Thanks for making yourself available for the talk. We had great feedback from attendees and they were speaking about relating to Social Media not as more work, but as a new quick way of engaging possible customers.
    Thanks
    Gavin

  2. June 7, 2010 10:00 pm

    Thanks for inviting me to speak Gavin. Once new social media users spend some time understanding what they are doing hopefully it will come second nature and very easy to manage. They were a great bunch of folks!

  3. June 7, 2010 10:02 pm

    Brilliant!! Congrats 🙂

    Did you video it by any chance?

  4. June 7, 2010 11:06 pm

    Will you do a post on some of the tips you suggested for photographers?

  5. June 9, 2010 4:40 pm

    No Cee we didn’t film it but I’m happy to give you a repeat of the presentation if you wish.

    Sure Holly I’ll post some of the tips soon!

Leave a Reply

