Skip to content

misscoca’s first tweetup – Wagamama winter menu launch

June 1, 2010

So after wanting to get to a @socialmelb (group of Melburnians who actively participate and share an interest in social media) gathering for some time, my chance finally came with the May @socialmelb dinner last night.

@socialmelb have a regular Friday morning tweet-up from 8am at Mr Tulk, at the State Library of Victoria. As I’m not a city dweller nor a city worker – actually since I’m not even a morning person – these tweetups, whilst appealing, have never been accessible for me. So along came the opportunity for the next @socialmelb dinner which coincided with #wntu – Wagamama National Tweetup.

Wagamama winter specials

The Wagamama National Tweetup involved a tweetup in all states hosted by Wagamama to allow participants to try their new winter menu, costing each person only a $5 donation to charity.

So with my social media partner in crime, @CeeFor (Craig), we headed down to Wagamama at Flinders Lane and Exhibition Street last night just before 6pm for our first foray into the tweetup world. Earlier in the day I received an email from Wagamama letting us know that there would be 4 prizes on offer for the most tweets, the best tweet, the most twitpics and the best twitpic throughout the evening. Craig, who also tweets from @TheMovementFam, and I decided to concentrate on the most twitpics as we really wanted to get that free dinner for 4. Oh and we’re stacks competitive.

Shortly after arriving Craig ordered a sencha tea and I ordered a Diet Coke. The Diet Coke came reasonably quickly, about 15 minutes after I ordered it, but we were still waiting on the sencha after 1hour 15mins, and asking for it 3 times. It was abundantly clear that the staff at Flinders Lane Wagamama were not prepared for the large numbers of patrons on a Monday evening and it was later revealed there was a miscommunication in numbers.

Our table at #wntu

We were able to access free wifi during the event and were encouraged to tweet using the #wntu hastag. From this we could see that our Sydney counterparts had finished their meals before most of the Melbourne contingent had even ordered. But we did get to order eventually and the sencha tea did also eventually materialise. I ordered the BBQ Pork Ramen Noodles and Craig had the Red Curry Duck. Our meals did not take a long time to arrive, however another person at our table never received a meal although he did order. In terms of the food, I would give the BBQ Pork Ramen a 6/10 and the Red Curry Duck a 9/10.

Regardless of the venue and its accompanying food and service, the company we were in was outstanding. I finally met a number of people I have gotten to know on Twitter and I also caught up with a few people I have met at conferences and around the traps. It was a great group of people to have dinner with and I will definitely be at another @socialmelb dinner soon.

As for Wagamama, we were compensated for the less than satisfactory service with buy one get one free vouchers and great recovery customer service. It was evident that the whole situation was a mix-up and I think that the average person can understand – hey it happens. We received apologetic tweets from the CEO and I was very happy with the way the company handled whole kerfuffle. I look forward to cashing in those vouchers, which are normally valid for just 2 weeks but we were given all year to use them – great customer service!

My advice is if you haven’t been to a tweetup and you have an interest in social media and meeting amazing new people then you should definitely give it a try!  The next Melbourne Pub Crawl is on this weekend…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 10:11 pm

    Hi Lauren,

    Nice round-up of the evening – I’m yet to post my review of the event, but overall – although the service was less than satisfactory – I really enjoyed the banter with everyone on our table and even my BBQ Pork Ramen in the end!

    Was great to meet you. Hope to see you around the traps!

    Chloe

  2. June 2, 2010 11:58 am

    Yay! Was great to see you there 🙂 And I finally got a pic of us too!
    Yeah, unfortunate for the whole mixup, but I still had an awesome time due to the incredible company of #socialmelb peeps. Looking forward to doing the next #socialmelb breakfast at Mr.Tulk and attending #meljel on Friday.

    Are you going to the Melbourne Pub Crawl this weekend? I’ll be trying to join them a little later ;D

    Catch ya soon I hope? Lunch next Tuesday?

    Great post by the way!

    day

    @day – tweet me!

  3. June 2, 2010 3:31 pm

    Great review Lauren- fair assessment of the impressively long delays etc but also Wagamama Flinders Lane’s big efforts to make amends.

    I’d no idea there were competitions- do you know who won? I thought I put a pretty funny tweet out there and much appreciated Craig’s retweet via @TheMovementFam !

    All in all it was great to congregate and see old faces and meet many new ones !
    I’m going to try brave a shout outs- nice to see/meet you:
    @misscoca, @KateKendall, @bryonycole, @Day, @ThatGirl_Chloe, @lukegrange, @timbull (Twitter card is coolest ever!), @portz, @gutta, @b00ka (thx for showing me how nice and shiny my blog looks on an iPad- oooh!) and lucky bit not least @jimyiapanis!

    Xx Cheryl ~ @busichic

Trackbacks

  1. Stars in the Blogosphere: Anthony Alsop « very misscoca

Leave a Reply

