Skip to content

Stars in the Blogosphere: Holly J Curtis

April 9, 2010

This is the first post of my new monthly series, Stars in the Blogosphere.

Each month a fascinating and impressive blogger will be profiled so you can learn a bit more about their blog. The blogs will range from new to old, from  professional to amateur and from a wide range of genres.

Stars in the Blogosphere will get you more acquainted with blogs you may not know, and about the people behind them.

For the month of April, our Star is Holly J Curtis, who writes and runs Am I There Yet?, a new and upcoming beauty blog.

I first came across Am I There Yet? quite by accident, but I’m really pleased I stumbled upon it as I’ve found it to be a cleverly written, witty & entertaining collection of articles.

Am I There Yet? has been online since early March and has included beauty product & service reviews, snapshots of her personal life, thoughts on goals and inspiration and articles on fashion.

Holly is a compelling writer, whose magnetic personality comes across in her prose and she connects well on the reader’s level by being down-to-earth and likeable.

So, keep your eyes open for this young talented blogger, who I’m sure we’ll be seeing a lot more from in the future!

Here’s a quick 10 question and answer interview with Holly:

Holly testing out a Revlon lippy

1. Tell me about yourself
I am a second year Bachelor of Journalism student at Monash University. I started studying there after a Gap year where I lived in Paris and visited my U.S. family. I keep busy (and procrastinate my study) with a few jobs; I nanny and I also work for a web design/development and branding/marketing business, and I also occasionally assist with PR for a fashion agency. Between thinking and writing posts for the blog, work and study, I also try to squeeze in a life – boyfriend, friends, family, exercise, collecting miniature porcelain poodle figurines – all the usual stuff!

2. Tell me about “Am I There Yet?”
Am I There Yet? was created out of knowing that I needed to start a blog to practise my writing but also ties in with my impatience to ‘get there’ (if you can imagine the little kids chanting ‘are we there yet?’ in the back of the car – that’s me!), wherever life should eventually take me.
I hope it will chronicle my journey reaching my goals all the while being (hopefully!) entertaining and informative about topics that interest me – mainly beauty and lifestyle.

3. Who or what inspires and influences you?
Successful women in the media. It seems everyone wants to have it all, and seeing women achieve that, while being honest about the dedication and sacrifice required, is inspiring to me.
I really appreciate honesty from people in the spotlight, so writers who can write about their misgivings or flaws is refreshing.
Zoe Foster would have to be my favourite woman in the media. Her zest is evident in everything that she does and I think she has an amazing career; Editor of Primped and three books by before the age of 30 – that’s pretty damn inspiring! Being extremely friendly and nice only adds to her charm.

4. What are your dreams for the future?
A successful career in the media I hope! I would be stoked to be able to make a living writing about the things I love. Having always aimed for a writing role in print media, I am now more inclined to work towards the growing online sector – I love the immediacy and interaction it brings. My dream role would be a beauty editor, but I also enjoy feature writing on women’s interest topics.

5. Any interesting or quirky facts about you?
Not too many, but I did dislocate my neck in my sleep once, ending up in a Regina-from-Mean-Girls-style brace for three months. Yeah, my only (and life-threatening) party trick to date!

6. What’s your favourite website?
I check in with Erica Bartle’s Girl With a Satchel for regular updates on what’s going on in the world of ‘glossies’, Primped for all my beauty needs, Mumbrella for media and marketing news, and a myriad of other news, fashion and lifestyle websites/blogs for news and personal views.

7. Favourite social media site?
It would have to be a tie between Facebook and Twitter.
Facebook for keeping in contact with friendship groups, and Twitter for a more general social experience – and it’s great for finding new websites/stories.

8. What are your Top 3 Beauty Tips?
1. A couple of years ago I jumped on the daily sunscreen bandwagon, so that’s number one (don’t forget, broad spectrum!).
2. I’m all about glowing skin, so illuminator (I use Benefit’s High Beam) is perfect for when your natural glow reservoirs are running low. Using a serum or oil (such as rosehip) will also refill those tanks overnight, I’m fastidious about applying mine nightly!
3. I loved well-groomed, filled-in and full brows, a look I am currently in the process of creating for myself. The perfect shape for your face can really change your look, and eliminate the need for excess make-up

9. If you could meet anyone dead or alive, who would it be?
What a hard one… maybe Coco Chanel or Audrey Hepburn. Barack Obama would be a pretty amazing dinner date too.

10. Mac or PC?
Mac – I’m obsessed with my iPhone and love the compatibility with my MacBook, oh I’m tearing up just talking about them!

verymisscoca.com wishes Holly and Am I There Yet? all the best for the future.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2010 11:23 am

    Post looks great! Super thrilled 🙂

  2. mujj permalink
    April 11, 2010 9:17 am

    That’s my girl – how ‘excitement’ for you! On your way UP GF!!! xx

  3. cbc permalink
    April 12, 2010 6:51 am

    you are your great-grandma Murmur all over. she was a writer and would be so pleased to see what you are doing.

  4. May 5, 2010 10:22 pm

    This was a really great interview girls! 🙂

    Good luck Holly, I reckon your blog is a winner and ‘Are we there yet?’ will need to change it’s name very soon! x

Trackbacks

  1. A Visit to Very Miss Coca « Am I There Yet?

Leave a Reply

