Skip to content

Do you dry shampoo?

March 26, 2010

The dry shampoo range at Chemist Warehouse

I was first introduced to dry shampoo about 2 years ago and to say the least, initially I was skeptical. But after a friend of mine swore by what to me was powder in a spray can, I gave it a go and have never looked back. 

When your hair is oily and in need of a wash but you just don’t have time, simply spray the roots with dry shampoo, leave for a minute or two and then comb out. Voila! Your hair looks like it has just been washed. I know that just sounded like a tacky late-night commercial but honestly, it really is that simple and it really does work! Oh there I go again… 

There are two main brands of dry shampoo – Klorane and Batiste. Both are readily available in chemists and Priceline.
From what I can tell, Klorane only produce one type of dry shampoo whilst Batiste has quite the range including tropical, blush, original and now a range of coloured shampoos. One of the issues for women with darker hair is that since the shampoo is white, it can lighten their hair slightly where it is has been applied. So Batiste have just realeased Brunette and Black hair versions to suit these respective ladies. 

Klorane is the more expensive of the two brands, often priced up to $15 each at different locations however I always find the best price is at Chemist Warehouse, where it usually costs $10.99. The original, blush and tropical Batiste cost $7.99 at Chemist Warehouse and the Brunette and Black Batiste are $10.99. You’ll be hard-pressed to find a cheaper price. 

Having tried both Klorane and the original Batiste, I would say it’s worth paying the extra to use Klorane. Whilst the packaging is less attractive and it doesn’t come with a fragrance like Batiste (Klorane simply smells fresh & powdery), it does seem to do a better job for only $3 more. But if you’re on a budget there is certainly nothing wrong with choosing Batiste as your preferred dry shampoo. 

So if you’re a busy girl who always wants to look fresh and glam then I highly recommend you jump on the dry shampoo boat, you will learn that you simply can’t live without it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 10:07 pm

    Yes I absolutely love dry shampoo! I started out with the bastiste (which I think is great) but I think I like the Lee Stafford one even better. It’s great for adding volume as well. It’s only a couple of dollars more, yet cheaper than the Klorane. Look out for the hot pink metal can!

  2. March 29, 2010 10:36 am

    Thanks for the tip, Holly! I haven’t seen the Lee Stafford one before but will definitely be on the lookout 🙂

Leave a Reply

