Skip to content

Waiting for a taxi… 13CABS launches iPhone app

March 25, 2010

Ok so I really hate cabs right now.

A couple of times lately I have needed to book a taxi from Southbank, going to locations that have included both Fitzroy and Melbourne. Every time I have booked a cab through 13CABS (run by Black Cabs), taxis have failed to materialise to pick me up. So this means I have to walk out onto St Kilda Road to hail one and blow me down, a cab stops within 1 minute of my attempts.

When I spoke to one of the very nice taxi drivers who did actually pick me up, he told me I should not give my destination when booking online as cab drivers see my journey as a short trip, and therefore a waste of their time.

Well hopefully my troubles with getting picked up will be over with 13CABS launching their iPhone app.

This new free app gives you the ability to book a cab, find a taxi rank, view your booking history and estimate your fare all at the touch of a button. The GPS function of the app can locate where you are needing to be picked up from, and you can also set up bookings for the future from alternate locations. It also boasts that you will ‘leap frog phone queues and hold times’.

The function I think will find particularly handy is the ‘Where’s My Cab’ feature – perhaps should have been titled ‘Where the $%!& is my cab???’ – which allowss users to check the status of their taxi.

I haven’t given the app a go yet, but I shall definitely try it soon. The free app is available for download from the App Store, let me know how you go if you use it!

Since this post was written a new version of the 13CABS iPhone app has been released which includes brand new features. A new post has been written about this update including new screenshots and information.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 5:27 pm

    How handy! Cabs are one of the most frustrating things, I hate not knowing I they are held up or just not coming! Do you know how much it is?

    • March 25, 2010 5:31 pm

      I know! I hope this makes cab drivers more accountable. It’s an free app! Will update the post to include that! Gotta love free apps!

  2. March 25, 2010 8:23 pm

    Also a bonus if it gives you that handbag!

  3. March 29, 2010 11:39 am

    Hi misscoca and hollyjcurtis,

    we are currently revising 13CABS iPhone App to include more functionality to make cabbies more accountable. We are working on a feature where you can take a pic on your iPhone of the cab number and report a cabbie to us, which can also be used to track the cab if you have left items behind.

    Give the 13CABS app a go, and stay tuned for the new release coming soon.

    Steve
    13CABS

  4. March 29, 2010 5:24 pm

    Hi Steve

    Thanks for your comment. I think the iPhone pic of the cab number is a great idea.
    I think one of the challenges is definitely getting drivers to take jobs that are 10km or less. Unfortunately the advice out there is to lie and say you are going to the airport – which is not a solution.
    I also must say I while I have had some bad experiences with taxis but I have also had some very positive ones.

    misscoca

    • April 30, 2010 10:43 am

      Hi misscoca

      Did you try 13CABS iPhone App yet? Let me know how you go.

      Y will be happy to know the new version 13CABS App will be released soon with ‘Cab Cam’ to record the Cab number amid a raft of cool new features.

      Yes, unfortunately the challenge of having drivers accept short trips and even sometimes actually pick up the passenger is ultimately very difficult and something we will continue to work on.

      Thanks for supporting 13CABS.

      Steve
      13CABS

      • May 17, 2010 5:51 pm

        Hi Steve

        No I haven’t needed a taxi for a while so I haven’t used the app yet but I’m sure I will need it soon!

        When is the new version of the app due to be realeased? Send me an email at verymisscoca[at]gmail[dot]com with the release date and description of new features and I will be more than happy to write a follow-up post.

        misscoca

  5. May 24, 2010 2:04 pm

    Hi misscoca

    check out 13CABS’ new version iPhone App:

    http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=358640110&mt=8

    It would be great to hear your thoughts on the new version.

    Steve
    13CABS

  6. October 13, 2010 3:20 pm

    Hi misscoca

    check out our new Facebook application, 13CABS Taxi Booker. Stay social whilst you book a cab! We believe it’s a world first.

    Give it a go and let us know what you think.

    Steve

    • October 20, 2010 2:21 pm

      Hi Steve! Hope you are well.

      Thanks for the link and I will check it out very soon.

      By the way, I love the iPhone app and have been using it for months.

      I have only had fantastic feedback from other users as well.

      Congratulations on a great product.

      m

      • October 23, 2010 2:53 pm

        Hi misscoca

        it would be great to hear yours and readers thoughts and suggestions on how we can improve 13CABS Taxi Booker Facebook application.

        http://apps.facebook.com/bookcab/

        At 13CABS we value feedback more than anything , and it’s always great to hear nice things about 13CABS’ products and services. The iPhone app has exceeded all of expectations and development is already underway for Windows Phone 7, Android and Blackberry apps as well as a Telstra T-Hub offering so stay tuned for 13CABS news.

        Steve
        13CABS

Trackbacks

  1. Dodgy cab drivers? There’s an app for that… « very misscoca

Leave a Reply

