Skip to content

La Roux rocks Melbourne 19-03-10

March 22, 2010

I first head La Roux last year when ‘In for the Kill’ came on the radio while I was driving and found myself in a trance. I quickly scribbled down some of the lyrics ion my diary so I could google it later and discover the artist and song title. The result was of course British electro pop duo, La Roux.

When I found out La Roux were playing in Melbourne I was down and it took little convincing to get The Movement Fam‘s Cee to come along to Festival Hall on Friday night, March 19. I took myself to the shops during the day and bought a gold mini skirt so I’d look the part and whilst I did, I was slightly aware of the fact that I had a possible 8-10 years on most of the audience. But I was so captivated by the music this thought left my mind immediately.

The show was absolutely amazing and definitely the best show I’ve seen at the venue, and by far the best use of lighting effects (who even knew Festival Hall had good lighting???).

La Roux, who is made up of Elly Jackson and Ben Langmaid (though I often refer to La Roux as ‘her’ or Ā ‘she’ since Elly is the face of the group), opened with ‘Tigerlily’ and also played singles ‘Quicksand’, ‘In for the Kill’ and ‘I’m Not Your Toy’ throughout the show, coming back for ‘Bulletproof’ as the encore track. ‘Bulletproof’ was clearly the crown favourite, going off with the entire crown jumping up and down and yelling the lyrics.

Support act Bertie Blackman was also a hit, using a megaphone to sing through for one of her tunes.

La Roux’s debut self-titled album is available on iTunes and if you missed the show all I can say is too bad.

Check out ‘Tigerlily’ live from Friday night

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 12:59 pm

    Great video! Whoever took it is a GENIUS! šŸ™‚

    Such an awesome show, glad you convinced me!

  2. March 22, 2010 2:03 pm

    Hi Cee,

    Yes an excellent cameraperson took the footage.
    Glad you enjoyed, I hope you repay me for my musical genius with John Mayer being amazing in May.

    misscoca

  3. tree permalink
    March 24, 2010 11:11 pm

    lol a pic of you in your gold mini would be great! hahaha i sound like a dirty sleaze!
    the video is awesome, sounds like you guys had an awesome time!
    PS. yes, i’m surprised you kept it so still Cee! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

